Every owner or registrant of an operable personal use motor vehicle is required to maintain only two types of insurance coverage in Florida: Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage - Liability. See Florida Statute 627.733 Required security. Nevertheless, other types of coverage are available under every policy written in Florida. While there's an additional premium cost associated with each different coverage, the benefits are valuable. For example, a person who has minimum coverage (PIP and Property Damage Liability) only, can still have his or her driving privileges suspended where their fault has caused someone else to sustain personal injuries. We are strong advocates for Bodily Injury and Unininsured/Underinsured Motorist insurance at substantial limits.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP). This coverage is outlined in Florida Statute 627.736. For accidents that happen in Florida, PIP covers the named insured, relatives residing in the same household, persons operating the insured motor vehicle, passengers in such motor vehicle, and other persons struck by such motor vehicle and suffering bodily injury while not an occupant of a self-propelled vehicle. For accidents that happen outside Florida but inside the U.S. or Canada, PIP covers you and relatives who live in your home. In this case, you must be driving your own vehicle. Persons other than you or your relatives are not covered. PIP pays:
- 80 percent of reasonable medical expenses related to the accident
- 60 percent of lost wages as a result of the accident
- $5,000 for death benefits
Property Damage Liability (F.S. 324.022). This insurance pays for damage you, or members of your family, cause to another person's property while driving. The term "property" includes, for example, a fence, telephone pole or building, as well as another car. Coverage applies even if you drive someone else's car. Depending on the terms and conditions of your policy, it may also include anyone else who uses your car with your permission. The minimum policy limit is $10,000.
Bodily Injury Liability (BI) (324.021). is generally not required in Florida. However, if you have been convicted of a DUI, BL is required for a period of three years after your license has been reinstated. If you were convicted on or before October 1, 2007, you must get a minimum of $10,000 worth of coverage per person and $20,000 worth of coverage per incident. If you were convicted after October 1, 2007, you must have $100,000 worth of coverage per person and $300,000 worth of coverage per accident.
BI pays for serious and permanent injury or death to others when your car is involved in an accident, and the driver of your car is found to be at fault to some extent. This policy pays for injuries caused by you and relatives who live with you, even if they are driving someone else's car. It also covers people who drive your car with your permission. BI coverage applies only after PIP benefits are exhausted. With this type of policy, the insurance company will also pay for your legal defense if you are sued. The minimum coverage limit is $10,000 per person/$20,000 per accident. The maximum can be in the millions. Umbrella coverage is an option to increase the coverage limit.